Organization Structure


Sioux Rivers Governing Board


  • The Sioux Rivers Regional MHDS organizational structure assigns the responsibility for funding non-Medicaid funded MHDS services, and the entire mental health delivery system to the governing board.  Each member county shall appoint two of its Supervisors to serve as a Director on the Governing Board.  Additionally, other members (Non-Voting) who complete the governance board membership are an individual who utilizes mental health services or is an actively involved family member and an individual representing service providers in the Counties that comprise the Sioux Rivers Region. 

About the Board

splash image

Kim Wermersen

Dickinson County Supervisor/Chair

Don Kass

Plymouth County Supervisor/Vice-Chair

Mike VanOtterloo

Plymouth County Supervisor/Director

Cory Altena

Lyon County Supervisor/Director

Jerry Birkey

Lyon County Supervisor/Director

Carl Vande Weerd

Sioux County Supervisor/Director

Mark Sybesma

Sioux County Supervisor/Director

Sherri Bootsma

O’Brien County Supervisor/Director

John Steensma

O’Brien County Supervisor/Director


William Leupold

Dickinson County Supervisor/Director


Tammy Bruinsma

Advisory Board Rep./Voting Member


Brenda Langstraat-Janish

Children’s Advisory Rep./Voting Member


Janie Baird

Children’s Advisory Rep./Voting Member

Non-Voting Members


Dr. Dayton Vogel

Provider Representative-Creative Living Center/Non Voting


Denise Driesen

Provider Representative-Family Solutions/Non-Voting


Mark Loutsch

Plymouth County Rep/Non-Voting


Sioux Rivers Regional Advisory Board


Dr. Shawn Scholten

Provider Representative-Creative Living Center, Chair


Lisa Rockhill

Regional Staff-Lyon County, Secretary


Mavis Anema

Regional Staff-Sioux County


Sharon Nieman

Regional Staff-Plymouth County


Beth Will

Regional Staff-Dickinson/O’Brien County


Carl Vande Weerd

Sioux County Supervisor


Rose Nicoson

Provider Representative-Life Skills Training Center-Plymouth Co.


Greg Baloun

Law Enforcement, Dickinson Co. Sheriff


Tammy Bruinsma

Community Representative-Sioux County


Robin Falde

Community Representative


Cheryl Van Beek

Faith Community Representative-Lyon County


Barry Whitsell

Provider Representative-Village Northwest-O;Brien Co.


Linda Schofield

Provider Representative-Lakes Life Skills-Dickinson Co.

MHDS Advisory Board


  • Sioux Rivers encourages stakeholder involvement by having a regional advisory board assist in developing and monitoring the plan, goals and objectives identified for the service system as well as serve as a public forum for other related MH/DS issues.  The Advisory Committee has nine members that include individuals who utilize services; service providers; a County Service Coordinator and a County Supervisor representing the Governing Board.

Click Here